Updating Trim

After work on Friday, I decided that I needed to start diving into some of our projects. I’ve been dying to paint our trim and thought that the spare bathroom would be a perfect place to start. At least that way if we hated it, it was one room. I picked up my materials that night at Target and as soon as I got home I got to work.
In full motivation mode, I sanded the trim since it was stained and filled all of the nail holes and miscellaneous cracks with paintable caulking. That was an adventure. I couldn’t understand why I was having such a tough time squeezing the caulk out when I realized it blew a hole out the other end and sprayed out on the wall and on myself. This led to several jokes that my husband and I laughed about. Call us young and immature – it was funny.

20130915-212828.jpg

Saturday I woke up and wiped down all the trim work and walls to make sure everything was clean and prepped for paint. Up until this point, I was motivated. You know what killed this motivation? Taping the edges so no paint goes on to the walls. I have realized it is not a passion of mine and that after a while I stop caring how good of a job I did. I knew that would lead to regret so I sucked it up and worked at it while taking breaks here and there so I wouldn’t screw the important job up.
When I was almost done taping, my parents came over and my mom notified me that I taped some areas that I shouldn’t have. She explained her reasonings and well moms are always right. Thankfully she is a painting queen and helped me rip off my work and redo some parts.
FINALLY it was time to paint. Instant motivation booster! I started painting and shortly after I started to panic. This doesn’t look that great… Reassured myself that a second coat will look better. That’s when my mom asked if I was using semi-gloss or hi-gloss paint. “Ummm… I don’t know. It’s the paint from downstairs.” Turns out it was flat and I remember learning that you should at least use semi-gloss when I did my research, but somehow I forgot that tid bit of information. It would work as my first coat and the next two would be semi-gloss.
Sunday morning Kyle and I went to Home Depot and bought a can of semi-gloss paint. We had to ask if the paint should be shaken since we aren’t adding color to it. He gave us a look and I quickly explained that we were new homeowners and didn’t know much about what we were doing. This led to another explanation of why to use a semi-gloss or hi-gloss paint on trim. Lesson: it is because flat paint, especially in a bathroom, will bubble. Semi-gloss or hi-gloss paint is more moisture resistant. Thanks Home Depot man!
After eating some donuts, I was back at work. Technically three coats later and peeling off all of the tape and wa-lah! White trim!

whitetrim

Our next decision is whether we paint the door white or black? What are your thoughts? Leave a comment below.

Have you worked a project this weekend? Send us a picture over on our Facebook page. We’d love to see what you’re working on!

Leave a Reply

